Write Like Us at Anoka-Ramsey hosts author Edwidge Danticat March 19

Write Like Us at Anoka-Ramsey hosts author Edwidge Danticat March 19

February 14, 2024

Write Like Us at Anoka-Ramsey Community College will host author Edwidge Danticat for a reading and conversation on Tuesday, March 19, 2024.

Event Information

Write Like Us presents Edwidge Danticat
Tuesday, March 19 at 1 pm
Coon Rapids Campus, Performing Arts Center

Event is free and open to the public for both in-person and virtual streaming. The in-person event will be ASL interpreted and include a book signing to follow.

Register for the livestream at tinyurl.com/WLU-EdwidgeDanticat

About Edwidge Danticat

Author Edwidge Danticat

Edwidge Danticat is the Wun Tsun Tam Mellon Professor of the Humanities in the Department of African American and African Diaspora Studies at Columbia University. She received her B.A. in French Literature from Barnard College and her Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from Brown University.

She is the author of seventeen books, including Breath, Eyes, Memory, an Oprah Book Club selection, Krik? Krak!, a National Book Award finalist, The Farming of Bones, an American Book Award winner; the novels-in-stories, The Dew Breaker, Claire of the Sea Light, and The Art of Death, a National Book Critics Circle finalist for Criticism. She has written seven books for children and young adults, a travel narrative, After the Dance, and a collection of essays, Create Dangerously. Her memoir, Brother, I'm Dying, was a 2007 finalist for the National Book Award and a 2008 winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for autobiography. She is the editor of The Butterfly's Way: Voices from the Haitian Dyaspora in the United States, The Beacon Best of 2000, Haiti Noir, Haiti Noir 2, and Best American Essays 2011.

She is a 2009 MacArthur Fellow, a 2018 Ford Foundation Art of Change Fellow, a 2018 winner of the Neustadt Prize, a 2019 winner of the Saint Louis Literary Award, a 2020 United States Artist Fellow, a 2020 winner of the Vilceck Prize, and a 2023 winner of the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story. Her story collection, Everything Inside, was a 2020 winner of the Bocas Fiction Prize, The Story Prize, and the National Book Critics Circle Fiction Prize. Her essay collection We’re Alone is forthcoming from Graywolf Press in Fall 2024.

More about Write Like Us

Supplementary Information