Anoka-Ramsey Community College Emeritus Faculty

Secondary Navigation

Anoka-Ramsey Community College Emeritus Faculty

The Distinguished Faculty Award (Emeritus) at Anoka-Ramsey Community College recognizes and acknowledges distinguished professional contributions to the college, the community, and the profession.

Distinguished Faculty Award Recipients

Year Individual Department Additional Information
2021 Thomas Hanson Sociology Thomas Hanson started teaching at Anoka-Ramsey Community College in 1989. Throughout his career, Thomas has been a leader in department initiatives and college-wide committees, and a valued advocate for equity and anti-racist work. He served as a faculty mentor, brought guest speakers and film discussions to campus, and facilitated numerous conversations and workshops within his department, across the college, and in the greater community. Thomas also contributed expertise to his field as a board member for the Sociologists of Minnesota.
2021 Max Malmquist Physics Max Malmquist taught at Anoka-Ramsey Community College for 31 years. Joining the faculty in 1966, he was instrumental in the development of the college’s physics program. During his time at Anoka-Ramsey, Max worked diligently to advance the college’s instruction and curriculum, including through mentorship of younger instructors. His involvement extended beyond the classroom. Max started and coached a golf team at Anoka-Ramsey, served as an advisor to the college’s science club and students on spring and summer break trips to destinations from Wyoming to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area.
2021 Tom McCarthy Communications Studies Tom McCarthy began teaching at Anoka-Ramsey Community College in 1982, and served as faculty in English, Speech Communications, Communication Studies, and Theater. Over the course of his 38-year teaching career, Tom served as a college-wide leader in faculty shared governance, curriculum, strategic planning and accreditation, chairing numerous committees, including AASC, and serving as faculty president. His colleagues cited his student-centered approach to teaching and service, noting that Tom coached a nationally competitive student speech team, advised the Multicultural Club, and won numerous teaching awards from his students.
2021 Melissa Mills Biology Melissa Mills began her career with Anoka-Ramsey Community College as a part-time instructor in 1984, beginning full-time service as a UFT in 1991. During her tenure at the college, Melissa served as the interim STEM dean and was a valuable member of many college committees, including Writing Across the Curriculum, Faculty Shared Governance, and semester conversion, among many others. She also served as MSCF President and was selected as Most Honored Faculty. Her contributions to teaching and learning included creating “A&P Out of the Box” for Anatomy and Physiology and service as a doula in the community and to inform her teaching.
2019 Darby Nelson Biology Darby Nelson retired from teaching at Anoka-Ramsey in 2001 after teaching here for 35 years. He taught Environmental Science, General Biology and Animal Biology and won many awards – Golden Chalk Award, Minnesota Post-secondary Science Teacher of the Year and our local chapter’s Faculty Excellence Award. But Darby did more than teach during those years. He served three terms as a Minnesota legislator served on many boards and committees and wrote on environmental topics in many venues – activities helping him to earn recognition from the Sierra Club, Izaak Walton League and the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.
2019 Katherine Whelchel Biomedical Technology Katherine Whelchel came to Anoka-Ramsey in 1979. She was integral in the development of the college’s Biomedical Technology program. She also served as the first director of the college’s Office for Student with Disabilities.
2003 Anne Levig    
1997 Robert N Bateson    
1992 Loyola Thiltgen    
1987 Gregory J LaPanta    
1985 Robert Cutting    


Meet Our Students and Alumni